At Your Best?

When are you at your best?  This is a concept I’ve been thinking about a lot lately… What things need to be “clicking” in your life in order for you to be firing on all cylinders? It’s different for everyone, some people need to be busy and constantly engaged. Others prefer a nice slow pace, a cadence that offers enough time for reflection and down time.  I’ve been on this world for 30 years and I’m only just starting to understand what things need to be in place for me to be functioning at my best.

I think part of the grand formula has a little bit of the following..

1 1/2 Parts Low-Stress:  Whatever your passion is, it’s very hard to focus on a specific task or be happy when you have host of issues floating above your head. Stress causes the mind to wander, and until major issues are resolved it can be hard to achieve whatever goals you’ve set out for yourself.

1 Parts Passion: So much of what we do in life needs to be driven by an internal craving to succeed.  Sometimes when you aren’t passionate about something or are just doing work because it’s a means to an end… it never gets your full attention.  On the flip side when you are working on something that you care about or are passionate about, you tend to pour your heart and soul into that project… and it rarely feels like work.

1/2 Parts Structure: Everyone’s definition of structure can be different, some need a set schedule to keep them on task. Others need a free-flowing schedule so they can react to the moment.  The key is finding what kind of environment works well for you. It’s a grand spectrum, and I often find that the times I’m the least productive are also the times that I’m at the wrong end of that spectrum.

1 Parts You: Probably the most important piece of the formula… YOU.  Get to know yourself… What you like, what you don’t like, what helps you move forward, what hinders your progress. Until I really evaluated myself and what I wanted out of life, I couldn’t set out a plan of action to get there.  “If you don’t know where you want to end up, how will you ever know which route to take?

Is this the perfect cocktail for success???  Probably not for everyone, but it’s a great starting point. Sure life will have its ups and downs but as long as you set a plan and follow it with all you have… there’s not much more you can do.

One response to “At Your Best?

  1. I must do mine to the extreme. Pretty sure my recipe is doubled. 4 PARTS AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

