Bootstraps…

My dear bootstraps…

You are a constant reminder that times are tough,
and that things are only going to get harder before they get better.
You remind me that I am human and that my err is indeed a curse and a gift…
For I will undoubtedly make more missteps, but I also embody the ability to recover.

My dear bootstraps…

You stare at me as if I to say what are you waiting for?
As if you know that the sooner I start this process the sooner I will be free of this weight.
You stare as if you can ascertain the gravity of my being or the dregs of my soul.

We exchange no words for we both know what comes next…

So I bend down and wrap the rest of my resolve gently around you and pull…

Leave a Reply

