Assimilation

As I think about all the tasks and perceptions handed down to me over time, and all the expectations that my breath gives birth to… I wonder if this life is mine or theirs.

I wonder if my actions are beyond my reach and I’m just dancing to a tune I can no longer make out.  Swaying to a song still faintly heard by the masses, filled with rhymes about what life should be and the earnest importance of honesty.

My movements, no longer rehearsed are a natural part of my inertia and as I dance I can no longer tell the difference between you and me cause at some point we became them. So when I hear the applause I smile because the collective has approved of my actions and since I am them I approve of their guile.

2 responses to “Assimilation

  1. “I wonder if my actions are beyond my reach and I’m just dancing to a tune I can no longer make out. Swaying to a song still faintly heard by the masses, filled with rhymes about what life should be and the earnest importance of honesty.”

    I like that quote! I need to read your stuff more …

Leave a Reply

