Day One of Forever…

Why is it that when we embark on certain goals or task we set a limit to it?? It could be 30 days where we challenge ourselves to eat healthier or a 90 day fitness routine… why do we set an end goal?  I understand it’s good to measure results but if the results are positive, shouldn’t we just continue indefinitely?

I’m guilty of this… I’m pretty sure I’ve written about it on this blog. When I finished my challenge I returned to being my old self throwing away the hard work I’d just done for the past 30 days.  Why?? The plain truth is I wasn’t ready to give up my personal indulgences.

I’ve made a decision though, any mentally or physically healthy challenges I do going forward I will make an effort to incorporate into the rest of my existence… because it’s probably good for me.

2 responses to “Day One of Forever…

  1. My humble opinion is, that if we do not give ourselves deadline and goals, we just flounder through life at random, never taking charge of anything. You are right: Once the goal is reached, we should take charge of another one. Not preceding would be foolish, since when we are 90 years old we STILL would want to do this or that , but have no more strength to alter anything about our lives. If we do not LIVE our lives NOW, we just exist. Our society is full of “existers” zombing from one medication to the next drink. Good article!

  2. PS: I have on my e-mail the same slogan: Today is the first day of the rest of your life. Best thing you can do is live it for Jesus.

Leave a Reply

