Next Phase…

So when I started this blog in 2010 it was part of a series of steps I was taking to push myself to do things I’d never done before.  I wanted to explore the uneasiness and tension that came with starting something completely foreign and new. Over the course of time I’ve had this blog a lot of interesting things have happened. I asked out a girl on facebook who I had a crush in university, I started embracing my ability to communicate through words, I performed in a poetry slam, I went snowboarding for the first time.  This blog was that little snowball at the top of hill that starts to pick up momentum.

The most recent endeavor that has been born from this type exploration is my new-found love of guitar.  I’ve written about my love of music a couple of times and I was able to cross ‘learn guitar’ off my 30 before 30 list.  So the next phase of this evolution is to perform an open mic night.  In order to get ready for this step I asked my artist brother in-law if I could get in his studio to record a cover. I wanted to see how I sounded, what I needed to fix… if this was even a possible task for me to undertake.  So after numerous takes, we final got a half way decent cover of California Dreaming by The Mamas and the Papas. Pretty stoked at the end… my brother in-law plays a mean tambourin.

California Dreaming Cover

Sunday recording session

If you would have told me two years ago that I’d be able to sing a song and play guitar at the same time… I don’t think I’d believe you.  None the less I had a blast creating music and I hope to continue trying to cover some of my favorite songs… so I decided to create a music page.

Next stop… open mic night

2 responses to “Next Phase…

  1. wow! emmanuel! that was good, your guitar playing is impressive.

    -p

Leave a Reply

