Home (re)Grown Vol. 5

All things happen for a reason… This is generally how I like to perceive the world around me.  All actions have a meaning and help shape the direction our lives tend to gravitate in.  A series of events led me home and as my time here draws to an end something interesting happened.  I got into an accident…

My beautiful car of six years got hit while I was pulling out of a parking lot and since it was my first accident I was beyond rattled.  I can still close my eyes and see the grey van bearing down on my drivers side wheel.  I can hear and feel the intensity of the metal and plastic meeting in a violent embrace.  It was an experience I won’t soon forget and luckily all parties were safe.

Car crashes are nothing like in the movies... I've been lied to

After a couple of weeks of dealing with the insurance people I found out that they weren’t going to fix my vehicle and I was going to receive cash instead.  At first I was frustrated because I hate waiting, and having a car gave me freedom… freedom to come and go as I please.  Now I had to be without a car till I found one a suitable replacement. So I juggled the idea of getting a used beater that would be in my price range so I wouldn’t have to make payments… or get a slightly used 2010/2011 and have car payments.

I spent time weighing the pros and cons of both options, then I realized there was a third option I hadn’t even considered.  Live life without a car. It was a simple and easy answer to all my problems.  No car payments, no worries that somethings going to break down in the cheap seven-year old car I bought, a smaller carbon footprint, and lastly more money in my pocket. (Cue Jimmy Fallon and Capital One Cash Card Commercial… “Who doesn’t want more money?”)  I’ve always secretly envied bike guy or walk everywhere girl… people who use alternative means of transportation because they want to cut down on pollution.

The more and more I thought about this third option, the more and more I realized that I got into that accident for a reason.  I spent a lot of time think about going green when it comes to transportation but never really had the stones to go through with it.  It was a novel idea that I never intended on ever acting on… till now.  I decided now is as good a time as any, plus I’ve heard great things about Montreal’s transit system.  Going Green in 2012… for the environment and for my pockets!! (Mo Money… less problems!)

As a friend so eloquently put it… “You don’t need a car, cars are for the weak!

3 responses to “Home (re)Grown Vol. 5

  1. BUFFALO RIVER DIARIES

    Well done! I hope you succeed with the car-less lifestyle. Good on ya.

  2. i dunno if your car-less friend has ever lived through a winter in winnipeg?!

    -p

  3. I have never had a car, never had a driver’s license, and while the phenomenon of the grass is always greener can come into play, I have to say I get a lot done on public transit, I read, I write to-do lists, I email, etc.

    This was your first accident? Wow.

Leave a Reply

