Californication

So if you’ve been following my twitter feed at all, you undoubtedly know that I went to Coachella this year in Indio, California.  Kind of decided to go on a whim, my friend asked if I was interested… and I thought to myself… why the hell not.

The rest is history… sweet epic history!!! My YouTube Video

Day 1 – Friday, April 15th

  • A-Trak
  • Cold War Kids
  • Excision
  • Interpol
  • Kings of Leon
  • Ms. Lauryn Hill
  • OFWGKTA (Odd Future Wolf Gang Kill Them All) – Guest appearance by Pharrell Williams
  • The Black Keys
  • The Chemical Brothers
  • The Rural Alberta Advantage

Notables from Day 1 – Kings of Leon were flawless, The Black Keys had sound problems but I was close enough that I didn’t care, OFWGKTA was actually pretty cool in between the profanity laced lyrics, when Lauryn Hill finally showed up she was solid and I’m glad I got to see her.

Saturday, April 16th

  • Arcade Fire
  • Broken Social Scene
  • Empire of the Sun
  • Erykah Badu
  • Mumford & Sons
  • The Radio Dept.
  • The Tallest Man on Earth
  • Two Door Cinema Club
Notables from Day 2 – Arcade Fire put on an epic show and even though I lost my friends I rocked out hard by myself. (Never say… “I’m just going to run to the bathroom” before a headliner starts) Mumford & Sons had great energy, Two Door Cinema put on a great set and had a pretty big crowd… probably should have been playing the second outdoor stage.
Sunday, April 17th
  • City and Colour
  • Duck Sauce
  • Foster the People
  • Kanye West
  • Nas & Damian Marley
  • Ratatat
  • The Strokes
  • Wiz Khalifa
Notables from Day 3 – I got pretty pumped up for Black & Yellow by Wiz Khalifa, The Strokes were classic rockstars and they nailed it, Nas & Damian Marley was pretty freaking awesome, City and Colour/Duck Sauce/Foster the People all really good sets, surprised at how much I liked Ratatat, Kanye was Kanye… unreal performance, played his hits… still don’t like him that much and still don’t think his latest album is that good… but he rocked out in epic fashion that I can’t deny.
Bands I wanted to see but didn’t… One Day as a Lion (Hello?? Zack de la Rocha from RATM… need I say more) Kele from Bloc Party, and Chromeo.
It’s 4am… I’m going to bed!
Leave a Reply

