Consumed By The Sound

Early last year I bought an acoustic guitar, I had just gone to a John Mayer concert and it sparked something in me.  (Similar to watching poets perform at open mic night)  So I made an impulse buy off Kijiji and with the help of YouTube decided to teach myself how to play.  At first it was tough but fun, I was like a freshman in high school about to round third base for the first time… I had no clue what I was doing but boy was I excited.  I fumbled and stumbled my way through strumming patterns and chords, busting strings as I tried learning how to tune my guitar.  (One of my major fears is that I bust a string while tuning and it lashes out and catches my eye, so I tend to lean back a little when I’m tuning.  Needless to say, me tuning a guitar… in a word… AWKWARD.)  It was great for the first 1 ½ months, then I started to grow impatient and stopped playing regularly.

Fast forward to October of 2010 and I decided I needed some direction if I was going to shock the world with my new guitar prowess.  So I enlisted the help of this young kid who was incredibly talented.  After 4 sessions he told me that I needed to ditch the acoustic, he said the style of music I like is better suited to the electric… so if I get an electric I’ll most likely play it more and learn/get better faster.  I thought that was a load of BS and didn’t want to spend $400+ on a new guitar, that coupled with Christmas coming up… I decided to put the lessons on ice.

Cue my Christmas Miracle…

Meet Veronica

When I went down to Chicago I started to tool around on my brothers electric and it was actually pretty cool.  So upon my arrival home I did a quick skim of the internet to see if there was any Fender Stratocaster for sale.  Then one day on Kijiji I saw her… cherry red, she came with an amp and she looked like she’d been taking care of.  I sent an email to the ad and within a day we had a deal in principal and I was off to pick it up for a cool $115. (I bought it off a Jr. High School girl who’s in three bands… consider me intimidated)  I get home, plug it in, strum out a tune and freeze.  I don’t think they actually have a measurement for the size of smile that was on my face, the sound was raw and sexual… I can’t describe how I felt, all I know is I just knew it was right.

So now that I’m thoroughly addicted to the sound, I find myself listening music totally differently.  I pay more attention to the strumming patterns in songs, and pick out the rhythm guitar from lead guitar.  I’ve started listening to legends like Les Paul, B.B. King, Eric Clapton, George Harrison play… paying more attentions to my current influences like John Frusciante of Red Hot Chill Peppers and John Mayer.  I tend to be addictive by nature and this is a drug that is literally stealing hours of my life… but I’m okay with it.  I resume my lessons in February, should have listen to the kid from the get go I guess.

So as I count down the hours till I’m home and get to play some more, here is one of my favorite Slowhand songs… I think it does an accurate job explaining the last 2 years of my life.

Change the World” (Only electric version I could find was a duet w/ Babyface)

If I could reach the stars
Pull one down for you
Shine it on my heart
So you could see the truth
That this love I have inside
Is everything it seems
But for now I find
It’s only in my dreams

Chorus:
That I can
Change the world
I would be the sunlight in your universe
You would think my love was really something good
Baby, if I could change the world

If I could be king, even for a day
I’d take you as my queen
I’d have it no other way
And our love would rule
this kingdom we have made
Til’ then I’ll be a fool
Wishing for the day

Chorus:
That I can
Change the world
I would be the sunlight in your universe
You would think my love was really something good
Baby, if I could change the world

Baby if I could…change the world

I could change the world,
I would be the sunlight in your universe
You would think my love was really something good
Baby, if I could change the world (repeat 2x)

5 responses to “Consumed By The Sound

  1. you’re infected by the sound…

  2. I better evacuate the dance floor…

  3. isn’t that song by eric clapton? never heard the babyface version before… can you send me a link or something?

  4. Slowhand got his nickname by awkwardly changing guitar strings too! So much in common, except he was a child prodigy.

  5. Pingback: What I’ve been doing… | The fantastical ramblings of a chronic over-thinker

Leave a Reply

