And I’m feeling good

And… we’re back!

So I have this ritual I do, I’m a strong believer that you have to know where you’ve been to make sure you know where you’re going.  So I break down every year into halves and give myself a mid year review.  Then at the end of every year I rank my year out of 10 while answering questions like… How did I do this year?  Was I better than last year?  What areas did I fail?  What areas did I succeed?  It’s kind of like a bread crumb trail of where I’ve been in the forest of life.  I leave these little nuggets so I can tell myself – “Dude… you’ve been here before and you’re going in the wrong direction.”  You see, I hate the feeling of spinning my wheels, it feels like complacency to me and it drives me insane.  A long time ago I read a quote and it changed me… I’ve never looked at life the same.

“In life there are no constants, things are either gradually getting better or they’re gradually getting worse.”

So for me, complacency is a sign that my life is  gradually getting worse. It’s also a sign that I need to “chin check” myself.  Although I’m my own biggest fan, I’m also my hardest critic and I strive to be better.  I can honestly say I was better in 2010 than I was in 2009… by a long shot actually.  2009 me was kind of a douche… ya, I said it!  Yet, with that being said 2011 me has major strides to make to improve over 2010 me as well.  I know I can stand to be better in all aspects of my life.

So here’s to 2011, I’m excited to kick this year off and to quote Nina Simone.

Bird flying high, you know how I feel
Sun in the sky, you know how I feel
Breeze drifting by, you know how I feel
It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day
It’s a new life for me…

And I’m feeling good

8 responses to “And I’m feeling good

  1. Dude. My boss tries to make me do self evaluations and I avoid it like he’s trying to feed me a tablespoon of Ebola. I can’t believe you do them voluntarily. Kudos.

  2. Oh man, that was awesome! I too am feeling good! Yesss…

  3. you were a bit of a douche in 2010

  4. That’s awesome. You’re so. Organized. And efficient. And self-reflective. Why don’t I know any guys like you? lol

Leave a Reply

