Week 4 of 4 – The End

Before I started this journey I discussed the issue of posting pictures of myself/my progress with a couple close people.  Debating how much detail I should go into, how much of it was too personal and how much information was relevant…  Why post progress at all?  The reason for posting my progress or giving a very loose play by play on my efforts was simple.  Accountability!

If I embarked on this shared experience journey with the few people that take time to view my blog, then I’d feel exponentially more driven to not let them down and complete the task I had set out for myself.  Then something weird happened, people started to encourage me and get behind me.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s a great thing and I’m glad that I gained support but in the same breath I found it awkward.  I wasn’t posting my progress so I could get a pat on the back or wishes of good luck. So when that happened I found myself initially railing against the feeling.  (This whole issue of not being able to accept any sort of compliment or encouragement is a blog post in itself… so stay tuned)

After I came to terms with the encouragement, I soldiered on.  I’m happy to say I’ve completed what I’ve set out to do with little to no problems.  Dropped some lbs, ate healthy/green for 30 days, and stayed away from all alcoholic beverages.  The most frequent question that came up was “Why?”  The simple answer is because I wanted to, because I felt like I needed to make a change, I was uncomfortable with some things in my life and my physical appearance so I decided to do something about it.

We spend all this time trying to understand all the people around us, but really how many people truly understand themselves?  I think weight and health are topics that are harder to discuss than sex and relationships.  What this journey helped me gain a better understanding of is that at the end of the day if you’re comfortable with how you look and feel, then that’s all that matters.  It’s okay to be a little/a lot thicker or to be a little/a lot skinnier as long as you’re healthy and comfortable with it. (Regardless of how we look, society will always have their two cents)  We shouldn’t embark on any sort of emotional or physical change for an external reason because if we do that we are bound to fail.  I used the notion of accountability to help me reach my goal, but it wasn’t the reason I decided to take on this task.

Out of all the slang terms thrown around these days,  the one I hate the most is… “Do You” but in this situation I think it fits.  When it comes to weight and body image I think it’s important that you Do You.

When you get what you want in your struggle for pelf,

And the world makes you King for a day,

Just go to the mirror and look at yourself,

And see what that guy has to say.

For it isn’t your Father, or Mother, or Wife,

Who judgment upon you must pass.

The feller whose verdict counts most in your life

Is the guy staring back from the glass.”

– Dale Wimbrow (excerpt from The Guy In the Glass)

9 responses to “Week 4 of 4 – The End

  1. You get to cross a few items off of your “30 Before 30” list!

  2. Great quote from Bill Parcels special….Donny Sutherland nailed that narrative…

  3. Congratulations on finishing, Romeo. So what are your thoughts on eating green and healthy? Going to continue that? How was the impact on your body?

    • Thanks
      I totally dig eating green/healthy. I’ll return to eating meat every now and then, but going to scale back a lot. Definitely didn’t have that sluggish feeling after a meal this month, which I attribute to no meat and more greens.

  4. Great job man! It’s hard to accomplish something like you just did. They say it takes 21 days to change a habit and if that’s right then your well passed and on your way buddy.
    Congrats again! I’m not sure you’ll ever find me not eating meat but I have lost 40 pounds in the last year from eating healthy, cooking everything myself (no dinning out) and working out 2-3 days a week.

  5. You nailed this. So many points I was nodding with you, that sex and relationships are easier to discuss, as well as who do you have to be accountable to, really? I absolutely agree that it’s you and only you. It’s nice to have support (even if it makes you feel a bit self-concious) but at the end of the day, knowing you made a promise to yourself and you didn’t break it is what makes a man a man.
    Now as for your other topic, the blog and its readers’ interactions; that’s such an interesting dilemma, because you’ve got a public blog, you put yourself out here, part of the agreement with doing that is you take what comes from that (though I draw the line at abuse, as I’m sure you and other blog writers would). In the end, I think it still boils down to you and what you feel is best for yourself.
    Also your quoted excerpt made me want to sing Michael Jackson’s Man in the Mirror. Score! Thanks for the series and the straight talk, it was much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

