Sledgehammer of Desire

She breaks me when she hugs me

She breaks me when she smiles

She’s a sledgehammer of desire and I’m an emotional rubble pile

So she breaks me with her knowledge

She breaks me with her voice

I find her fascinating, it’s like I never had a choice

So I stay broken when she ignores me

I stay broken when she’s gone

She even breaks me from a distance as I listen to love songs

I’m still broken as I write this

I’ll stay broken cause I’m lost

And in these broken moments, she’ll consume all my thoughts

9 responses to “Sledgehammer of Desire

  1. i feel you on this one. I know a girl who does the same thing to me. this is a poem i can relate to:]

  2. Such a telling love poem….I’m glad I had a chance to read it.

  3. Not what I was expecting after seeing you had taken some time off but very good non the less.

  4. So the great thing about this is how beautifully you were able to weave your emotions and communicate this through words. Now, move on. Get rid of the fillers and surround yourself with people who add value to your life. You define your worth.

    • …that pearl of possibility that lives in your heart when you meet somebody you want to know more about has such a different molecular density than everything else that you have to pursue it. And I wouldn’t undo it, man. Because if it had worked out, I would have reaped the benefits. I would be sitting here saying, “What I have when I go home is the thing I’ve always wanted.” – John Mayer

      You make the assumption that the person I’m writing about doesn’t add value to my life, and is filler. I know I define my worth but I also control my emotions. I choose to keep this person in my life because they’re extremely special, and yes I have to control my feelings. But I’d rather control my feelings then exercise the person out of my life altogether… that seems extreme

  5. I have to agree. You can have much more meaningful relationships in general by being selective in who you let into your life but you cant limit it to the people that make it easy on you or who you dont have complicated feelings for. I think you learn more from complicated relationships (not necessarily bad ones though) then you do from ones where the value added to your life comes easily.

  6. I am a enthusiastic fan of experiencing depth, taking a leap of faith and following what stirs my core. My bluntness stems from knowing you and I should know better as a writer that it is easy to convey depth of an emotion despite it not really being that debilitating. If the experience is temporary, indulge; if it is on-going, maybe one should consider releasing a relationship to firstly, heal, then create space for something new and fulfilling to enter.

  7. I like. A lot. Looking forward to reading more!

Leave a Reply

