Turmoil’s Troubled Land

I decided to work a little Shakespeare into my latest piece, but I’ll admit I think I’ve been on a tad bit of a sad streak.  I promise my next post will be more uplifting, can’t help this one though it just came together while on lunch at work

My heart has been recently broken so I wrapped it in a soliloquy

Reciting works of Shakespeare in an attempt to mend my injury

What light through yonder window breaks?

What a somber love story William paints

To be, or not to be? that was the question

To love you or be free? was the basis of my hesitation

You see I live in turmoil’s troubled land

And harvest the fruit of a bothered man

Weeds of mistrust and rotten apples of foolish deeds

I’m experiencing a drought, so my tree of hope has no leaves

I need a downpour of love to quench this desolate landscape

A deluge or a flood to revive me from this abysmally sad state

To grunt and sweat under a weary life

As I mend I draw symmetry in Hamlet’s plight

To live or to die was the implication in his tirade

To love or to lie was my issue that led to heartbreak

I wrap my heart in these words… so tempered and tight

And know that I’m healing with every word I recite

4 responses to “Turmoil’s Troubled Land

  1. thank you

  2. Just a brilliant poem…I loved the way you played off the classic lines to develop an new poem…I am always amazed by the creativity of my fellow poets…thanks for this!

  3. awesome, really imaginative poetry

Leave a Reply

